Research advisory group

Asia:NZ’s research advisory group is a group of experts drawn from the academic, private and public sectors. They advise the foundation on the selection of grant recipients, researchers and research topics.

The group is chaired by our research director, Dr Andrew Butcher.


  • Professor Robert Ayson, director, Centre for Strategic Studies, School of Government, Victoria University of Wellington

  • Dr David Capie, senior lecturer, School of History, Philosophy, Political Science and International Relations, Victoria University of Wellington

  • Charles Finny, consultant at Saunders Unsworth; chair of the New Zealand Centre for Contemporary Chinese Research Advisory Board, Victoria University of Wellington

  • Professor Gary Hawke, Emeritus Professor Victoria University of Wellington; senior fellow NZ Institute of Economic Research

  • Associate Professor Coral Ingley, Associate Professor Management, Business School, AUT

  • Professor Manying Ip, FRSNZ, School of Asian Studies, University of Auckland; Asia:NZ trustee

  • Professor Henry Johnson, president of the New Zealand Asian Studies Society; Head of the Department of Music, University of Otago

  • Associate Professor Jacqueline Leckie, head of department, Anthropology and Archaeology, University of Otago

  • Associate Professor Val Lindsay, School of Marketing and International Business, Victoria University of Wellington

  • Paul Lister, policy manager, International Division, Ministry of Education

  • Sankar Ramasamy, manager, IMSED Research, Department of Labour

  • Mervin Singham, director, Office of Ethnic Affairs, Department of Internal Affairs

  • Professor Paul Spoonley, FRSNZ, research director, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, Massey University, Auckland

  • Professor Hugh Whittaker, director, New Zealand Asia Institute, University of Auckland

Last updated: 18 Dec 2012